February 04, 2020

2020 Pittman Scholars announced

Written by Mary Ashley Canevaro



Six faculty members in the UAB School of Medicine have been named the 2020 class of James A. Pittman Jr., M.D., Scholars, a program that recognizes the impacts of junior faculty and supports the recruitment and retention of highly competitive scientists and physician-scientists.

The Pittman Scholars, named for the late James A. Pittman, M.D., longtime dean of the School of Medicine from 1973 to 1992, are nominated by their department chairs based on their research achievements and their potential for continued discovery in the basic or clinical sciences. Pittman is considered a principal architect of the School for his ability to recruit top scientists and physicians to UAB.

Pittman Scholars are selected each academic year. The selected class of scholars receive \$12,500 per year for five years to support the faculty member's research-related activities or scholarly enrichment.

The 2020 Pittman Scholars are (from left to right, top to bottom in the photo): Akila Subramaniam, M.D. Obstetrics/Gynecology Ashley Harms, Ph.D. Department of Neurology Sushant Bhatnagar, Ph.D. Department of Medicine Craig Maynard, Ph.D. Department of Pathology Summer Thyme, Ph.D. Department of Neurobiology Ceren Yarar-Fisher, Ph.D. Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation