# Sixteen faculty members named winners of 2020 Dean's Excellence Awards

Written by **Brit Blalock** 

Print
AddThis Sharing Buttons



Sixteen outstanding faculty members have been named recipients of the 2020 Dean's Excellence Awards, an honor recognizing exceptional contributions made by School of Medicine faculty in teaching, research, service, mentorship, and diversity.

"I'm delighted to announce the winners of the 2020 Dean's Excellence Awards," said Selwyn M. Vickers, M.D., FACS, senior vice president for Medicine and dean of the School of Medicine. "The Dean's Excellence awards recognize and honor exceptional work done by our faculty across these important areas. Every individual who was selected has had an immense impact on the UAB campus and our greater community. While I am disappointed we will not be able to honor them at an in-person event this year, I want them to know that we are all extremely proud of their hard work and dedication."

Learn more about each of this year's winners by clicking their names below:

### **Teaching**

Silvio Litovsky, M.D. | Senior Faculty

Nancy Tofil, M.D., M.Ed. | Senior Faculty

Erin Contratto, M.D. | Junior Faculty

Starr Steinhilber, M.D., MPH | Junior Faculty

#### Research

Namasivayam Ambalavanan, M.D. | Senior Faculty

Frances Lund, Ph.D. | Senior Faculty

Matthew Alexander, Ph.D. | Junior Faculty

#### Service

Winn W. Chatham, M.D. | Senior Faculty

Isam-Eldin Eltoum, M.D. | Senior Faculty

Kellie Flood, M.D. | Senior Faculty

Brenessa Lindeman, M.D., MHEP | Junior Faculty

<u>Chrystal Rutledge, M.D.</u> | Junior Faculty

## **Mentorship**

Smita Bhatia, M.D., MPH | Senior Faculty

Stefanie Krick, M.D., Ph.D. | Junior Faculty

## **Diversity**

Farah Lubin, Ph.D. | Senior Faculty

Karla Williams, M.D. | Junior Faculty