Eighteen faculty members named winners of the 2019 Dean's Excellence Awards

Written by **Brit Blalock**

Eighteen outstanding faculty members were named recipients of the 2019 Dean's Excellence Awards, an honor recognizing exceptional contributions made by School of Medicine faculty in service, teaching, research, diversity enhancement and mentorship.

"I'm so pleased to announce the winners of the 2019 Dean's Excellence Awards," said Selwyn M. Vickers, M.D., FACS, senior vice president for Medicine and dean of the School of Medicine. "The Dean's Excellence awards recognize and honor superb work done by our faculty across these important areas. All of the individuals honored this year have a lot to be proud of in their careers here at UAB, and I so grateful for what they've given and continue to give to our community and this institution."

The 2019 winners are:

Excellence in Research

Junior: Jeremy Day, Ph.D. Mike Wells, M.D. Senior: Mohammad Athar, Ph.D. Anath Shaley, M.D.

Excellence in Teaching

Junior: Winter Williams, M.D. Cristin Gavin, Ph.D. Senior: Jim Johnson, M.D. Lou Justement, Ph.D.

Excellence in Service

Junior: Chris Godlewski, M.D. Leah Leisch, M.D. Senior: Ed Colvin, M.D. Vishnu Reddy, M.D. Joint winners Jeff Simmons, M.D., and Melanie Morris, M.D.

Excellence in Mentorship

Yabing Chen, Ph.D. Mark Dransfield, M.D.

Excellence in Diversity Enhancement

Herb Chen, M.D. Isabel Scarinci, Ph.D., MPH

<u>Click here</u> to view the Dean's Excellence website and view photos of the award winners.